Reitmeister Award

The Reitmeister-Abess Center Environmental Stewardship Award is given annual to the individual(s) who has made a singularly significant contribution to conservation, particularly related to water resources and/or endangered species. 

Past recipients include: Harvey Ruvin, Miami-Dade County Clerk of Courts/local environmentalist; author/environmental activist Carl HiaasenTerrence “Rock” Salt, former Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Army, Civil Works; Jennifer Jurado, director of the Broward County Environmental Planning and Community Resilience Division; Rachel Silverstein, executive director of Miami Waterkeeper; and Carlton Ward, Jr., conservation photographer; Jane Gilbert (Chief Resilience Officer, City of Miami), Susy Torriente (former Chief Resilience Officer, City of Miami Beach), and Jim Murley (Chief Resilience Officer, Miami-Dade County); Caroline Lewis, founder and senior climate advisor of the CLEO Institute; Betty OsceolaNative American Everglades educator, conservationist, anti-fracking, and clean water advocate; and Jenny Staletovich, environmental reporter.